Northern Illinois Junior Angus Association Minutes- December 22, 2023

- 1. Alyssa Miller called the meeting to order at 8:04 pm on December 22, 2023.
- 2. Secretary Report presented by Cheyenne Handsaker- Anna Johnson moved to approve the Secretary's report and Macie Carroll seconded the motion. Motion passed.
- 3. Treasurer's Report presented by Brea Musser. Anna Johnson moved to approve Treasurer's report and Macie Carroll seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Old Business

- a. AAA Bronze and Silver Awards are required to apply for AAA Scholarships. Contact Dianne Handsaker if you have any questions or want assistance.
- b. The tour at Blueprint Genetics was on October 29, 2023.
- c. Prairie Fire Gold & Grill was held on November 24, 2023. Thanks to all who attended.
- d. The 2024 NIAA Banquet will be held on January 27, 2024, at Rt. 20 Bar and Grill, Freeport
 - i. Junior seating area will be available.
 - ii. Volunteers are needed for the auction and selling tickets for the buckets.
 - iii. Top Ten Overall Results and winners will need to be present to receive their payout and awards.

New Business

- a. Educational and Social events will be planned on January 14 at 8 pm on zoom meeting and presented ideas: Trampoline Park, Polo Pool, Rodeo, and Badger Hockey Game.
- b. IAA, IJAA and Auxiliary Event, March 16, 2024, Holiday Inn Bloomington-Airport
- c. NJAS Show, June 29-July 6, 2024, Madison, Wisconsin
- d. NJAS Raising the Bar- "Climbing to New Angus Peaks" Colorado State, March 21-24, 2024. Applications open January 2, 2024.
- e. NJAS Lead Conference- Boot Scootin' to the Bayou," Baton Rouge, LA July 23-26, 2024. Applications open January 2, 2024.
- f. NIAA Scholarship (receive only one time- high school or in college). Applications available in April and due June 1, 2024. Will be posting if one or two scholarships will be awarded in 2024.

g. 2024 NIAA Preview Show: June 9, 2024, Carroll County Fairgrounds Election of Officers

- a. Anna Johnson moved to approve the nomination of Cheyenne Handsaker as President and Alyssa Miller seconded the motion..
- b. Anna Johnson moved to approve the nomination of Coehen Kirchner as Vice President and Alyssa Miller seconded the motion.

- c. Cheyenne Handsaker moved to approve the nomination of Macie Carroll as Secretary and Anna Johnson Seconded the motion.
- Alyssa Miller moved to approve the nomination of Brea Musser as Treasurer and Anna Johnson seconded the motion.
 All officers were elected as nominated.
- e. Macie Carroll approved the motion to elect Grant and Olivia Johnson, Jocelyn Ruppert, Alyssa Miller, Cylee Kirchner, Kady Miller and Mya Miller. Motion passed.

Anna Johnson moved to adjourn the meeting and Macie Carroll seconded the motion. Motion passed and the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting will be held on January 14, 2024, at 8pm on zoom.